top of page
Current Lab Members
Principal Investigator

Professor Jennifer A. Maynard

ZD Bonner Professor of Chemical Engineering at UT Austin

BA, Human Biology with Honors, Stanford University

PhD, Chemical Engineering, University of Texas at Austin

Postdoc, Microbiology & Immunology, Stanford University

* National Academy of Inventors, senior member

American Institute of Medical & Biological Engineers Fellow

* University of Texas “Emerging Inventor of the Year” Award

* Texas Exes Teaching Award for the College of Engineering
* Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Grand Challenge Award 
* Packard Fellowship, David and Lucile Packard Foundation
* Dreyfus New Faculty Award
* National Research Service Award, NIH F32

Research Assistant Professor

Dr. Annalee W. Nguyen

Director, CPRIT Advanced Protein Therapeutics Core 


BS, Chemical Engineering, University of Texas at Austin
PhD, Chemical Engineering, University of California at Santa Barbara


  • NIH NRSA F32 award

  • NSF GRFP award

Research Fellow

Dr. Poulami Das

BS, Physiology, University of Calcutta

MS, Physiology, University of Calcutta

PhD, Cancer Biology, Homi Bhabha National Institute

Research Assistants

Mathew Soto 

BS Biology: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, UT-Austin

Graduate Students

Laura Azouz

BS, Chemical Engineering, Michigan State University 

PhD Candidate, Chemical Engineering (6th year)


Rebecca Wilen

BS, Chemical Engineering, with Biochemistry/ Biophysics minor,  Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 

PhD Candidate, Chemical Engineering (5th year)


Alison G. Lee

BS, Molecular Biology/ Biochemistry,  University of Pittsburgh 

PhD Candidate, Cell and Molecular Biology (5th year)


Samuel Blackman

BS, Biological Engineering, NC State University 

MS, Chemical Engineering, UC Boulder 

PhD Candidate, Chemical Engineering (4th year)



Sumit Pareek

BS, Chemical Engineering, Penn State University 

PhD Candidate, Chemical Engineering (3rd year)


Kelli Hager

BS, Animal Science, Ohio State University 

MPH, Infectious Disease and Vaccinology, UC Berkeley

PhD Candidate, Microbiology (3rd year)


McKenna Flynn

BS, Biochemistry, University of Texas at Austin 

PhD Candidate, Biochemistry (3rd year)

IMG_0999 (1).heic

Agata Turula

BE Chemical Engineering, The City College of New York 

Chemical Engineering (2nd year)

​(co-supervised with Lydia Contreras)


Yakendra Bajgain

BS Biology, Troy University

MS Biology, Villanova University

Cell and Molecular Biology (2nd year)

lab website photo KM.jpg

Kate McConnell

BS Biochemistry, Western Washington University

Biochemistry (2nd year)


Truong Nguyen

BS Molecular, Cell & Dev Bio, University of Washington, Seattle

Cell & Molec Biology (1st year)


Mica Cabrera

BS Biochemistry, Cal State East Bay

Cell & Molec Bio (1st year)

Undergraduate Researchers
  • Matthew Ocanas, ME, class of 2024

  • Anna Prestwood, ChE class of 2024

  • Jayden Aleman, Biology, class of 2024

  • Grace Lai, ChE class 2025

  • Shruthi Garla, BME class 2025

  • Alina Garcia, ChE class 2025

We periodically seek undergraduate research assistants to help with our efforts. If you are an undergraduate interested in joining the lab, please complete the google form here.  We will review these and reach out as needs arise. Thank you for your interest!

bottom of page